It is currently 06/28/24 6:04 pm

All times are UTC - 6 hours

Page 1 of 1   [ 9 posts ]
 Post subject: Rambling introspection
PostPosted: 02/23/13 5:28 pm • # 1 
Editorialist

Strange how this feeling can just come over me on rare occasions. A sort of melancholy. Maybe the latest birth brought it on. She is probably the last of my grands.

But, it's more. Sometimes I'll read a blog or two and marvel at the writing and creativity. Many people who have blogs go on to write books. Then I wonder what I might have done had the internet/blogs/YouTube/American Idol been around when I was growing up. Would I have been a writer, actor or a singer? Would my path have been much different?

As I wonder about these things, I feel a sense of "left-behindedness" (my new made up word). Left behind by technology, by my children and grandchildren as they make their lives while I am so far away. By the world at large.

I think about the things I "should've" when I was younger. If I only knew then what I know now. I would have lived alone. Waited longer for marriage. Finished college. Traveled abroad to places that now are too westernized like Thailand or Scotland. Maybe backpacked around Europe.

I feel a sense of restlessness, of wanderlust. When the last lottery winner ($30 million)was said to be from our city, I allowed myself to dream of the things I would do and see.

I watch as our family and friends grow older and I tend to get lost at times in old memories.

Sweet fleeting moments in time plucked out, examined and put back away. The day you got that puppy or the day your own children were born. When blowing bubbles was high entertainment and watching the clouds an art form. Eons ago, yet just yesterday in our memory banks.

Then there are the dark memories. Things you would do much differently if you could. Some you wouldn't change, for they were personal growth opportunities. Others you would absolutely change. Most of those involve other people.